Introducing…. My Canadian Ancestors

My Canadian born grandfather, George Alexander Walker is directly responsible for my interest in genealogy and family history. Why? (you ask)… well, my husband and I were vacationing in Northern Minnesota, and on a whim we went into the Bemidji courthouse and asked if it would be possible to have a look at any records. Honestly I had no idea of what I was looking for! But the very agreeable staff showed us to a room full of old musty leather-bound volumes and as I opened the first volume, there before me was my Mother’s birth record! You could have knocked me over with a feather. Then the next surprise was learning that my grandfather George was born in Ontario, Canada. So that was it…… I was off and running and never looked back. What an adventure it’s been!

So without further ado let me introduce you to my Canadian ancestors:

William George Walker, born about 1820 in Ireland, died c. 1877 in Fordwich, Huron, Ontario, Canada

William Alexander Walker, born March 19, 1843 in Ontario, died March 6, 1930 in Bemidji, Minnesota

George Alexander Walker, born November 27, 1865 in Ontario, died September 7, 1932 in Bemidji, Minnesota

George Alexander Daly, born abt 1787 in Ireland, died October 6, 1787 in East Oxford, Oxford, Ontario, Canada

Margaret Amelia Daly born in February, 1824 in Calcutta, India, died June 13, 1864 in Fordwich, Huron, Ontario, Canada

To clarify things a bit, Margaret Amelia Daly married William George Walker on December 11, 1841 in East Oxford. Their child was William Alexander Walker, and it was he that eventually emigrated to the U.S.

So there you have it, my Canadian ancestors in the “Reader’s Digest” form. I’m looking forward to reading about the ancestors of others who are participating in this Carnival, and maybe by some amazing coincidence we’ll find a connection.

Written for the Canadian Genealogy Carnival, September 19, 2008. Susan J. Edminster, Granite Falls, WA.

This entry was posted in Canadian Genealogy Carnival, Daly, Walker. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing…. My Canadian Ancestors

  1. Kathryn says:

    Susan, what an amazing way to have discovered your Canadian ancestors. Thanks for introducing them to us.
    Kathryn

  2. That was fate or else your ancestor stepping back to grab your hand.
    Colleen

  3. Deborah Dow Fenimore says:

    My grandfather was Alexander Malcolm Daly, I believe of Ontario, Canada.
    Am searching for more information on my family.
    I am direct descendent of Frederick Ferris Daly of Canada.
    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
    Deborah Dow Fenimore
    Lewes, DE

  4. susaned1 says:

    Dear Deborah,

    Hello from a “cousin” in Washington State! I’m delighted to hear from you and will be glad to share any and all information in my data base. My great-great-grandmother, Margaret Amelia Daly was the child of George Alexander Daly (aka Captain Daly) of East Oxford, Ontario. Margaret and Frederick Ferris Daly were siblings. Have you read the various Daly posts on my blog? If you have questions for me please let me know… I’ll send you whatever I have.

    Sue Edminster

Leave a Reply

