Gaining Control of My Time – HA-HA!

My cousin Jan and I were talking the other day about about the frustration of never having enough time to work on our genealogy/family history projects… I think Jan said something like:  “So much to do, so little time.”  Ain’t that the truth!  So OK, I said to myself, if I can just get a better handle on the “rest of my life” there will be lots and lots of time to work on family history, right?  Yah, right. It’s an attractive thought but reality dictates that  laundry still has to be done, floors cleaned and scrubbed (we have a new puppy), meals prepared and planned for, grocery shopping done, etc, etc, etc,…  you know the drill:  “So much to do, so little time!”

While Jan and I were talking I made a foolish statement about my plan to set aside at least parts of every Thursday, Friday and Saturday to work on family history. Silly girl..having a plan and  following that plan are two different things, and it’s easy for me to see right away that family history gets put aside until all other “necessary” tasks get done.  That way my guilty concience doesn’t kick in.  Aha! There’s the problem… family history is relegated to second place on the priority list.  But, hmmmmm, what can be done about that?

That’s a darn good question!

In thinking about this time issue I realized that one of my problems is not being “on task” enough when I do get to working on family history. I tend to dwaddle a bit, reading this and that post that might be useful, or doing piddly little genealogy tasks instead of working to move my project forward .  For example right now I’m wanting to review the 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880 Agricultural Census documents for Deleware County Iowa where my Shane Great-Grandparents farmed and raised their family.  But in order for those Ag Census to be useful they need to be compared and analyzed with an eye to what the Shane’s life was really like, were they prosperous or not so, which kids old enough to work on the farm, and many other questions.  The only way for me to do this is to, YES, set aside the time!  Well “duh” on me!  This is my great “light bulb” moment… set the time aside and do it!!

So now it’s time for me to sign off and (even on a Monday) push my guilt aside and start studying those Ag Census documents.  Posts will be coming…just as soon as I get the time to do them!!  Aaaaggghhhh!

Susan J. Edminster, Granite Falls, Washington, July 19, 2010.  All Rights Reserved

This entry was posted in Census, Family History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

