Descendants of Alexander Daly

**************************************************
Alexander Daly, born abt. 1789, in Ireland, died 6 October, 1868 in Ontario married Jane (unknown) born abt: 1791 in Ireland

Children of Alexander Daly and Jane (unknown):

Generation I

Ann Sophia Daly,* born abt. 1821
married (1) Frizelle, (2) James Bagent, (3) William Goble

Margaret Amelia Daly, born February, 1824 in Calcutta, India
married William George Walker, 25 November, 1841.

Catherine Louisa Daly, Born August, 1825 in Calcutta, India
married Thomas Sherred, 15 December, 1848.

George Alexander Daly, Born in 1828 in Calcutta, India
married Jane Rutledge, 6 December, 1854.

Caroline Daly, Born in 1830 in Ireland
married Thomas Dell, 10 September, 1851.

Julia J. Daly, Born in 1833 in Canada West
married Egerton Ryerson Rutledge.

Frederick Ferris Daly, Born in 1835 in Canada West
married Thyrza (or Thyrsa) Malcolm.

*Rationale for the assumption that Ann Sophia is the child of Alexander and Jane Daly:

1. Marriages in Brock Dist., part 4 Ontario Archives, film MS 248, Reel 1 Vol 2. (1850)
May 5, James Bagent, 33 Oxford, to Ann S.Frizelle, 31, Oxford, witnesses: Thomas & Catherine Sherwood (sic)
2. 1851 Canada Census for East Oxford Township:
James Bagent, farmer, born in England, 33 yrs of age, wife A.S. Bagent born in Calcutta, 30 yrs of age.
3. Article in the Oct. 15, 1852 British American (newspaper):
“Died on Wednesday the 6th inst after a short illness, James Bagent, son-in-law to Capt. A. Daly of East Oxford.”
4. Marriages in Brock Dist. 1854:
“Oct. 25, William Goble, Blenheim, to Ann Sophia Bagent, Oxford”
5. Marriage Registers of Upper Canada/Canada West, Brock District, 1839-1857:
“William Goble of Blenheim to Ann Sophia Bagent, both of East Oxford, 25 Oct 1854 by license, Reverend William S. Ball.
Witnesses: George Daely(sic) & W.G. Walker.”

Many thanks to Darleen Upper for ferreting out this information and providing a logical explanation.

This entry was posted in Daly. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Descendants of Alexander Daly

  1. L. Rutledge says:

    My ggf James Ingram Rutledge (1832-19230 is brother of Jane and Egerton Ryerson Rutledge. I have a letter written by Egerton to my ggf after Egerton’s wife has died and two of his children are severely ill. Also a letter written by his daughter to my ggm. Would like to know if Alexander Daly was a methodist missionary in Calcutta.
    My ggf married Elizabeth Welsh (1840-1932) . I have over a 100 letters written by ggm to various family members from 1851-1930.
    Would love to hear from anyone with similar family roots.

  2. L. Rutledge says:

    My ggf James Ingram Rutledge (1832-1923) is brother of Jane and Egerton Ryerson Rutledge. I have a letter written by Egerton to my ggf after Egerton’s wife has died and two of his children are severely ill. Also a letter written by his daughter to my ggm. Would like to know if Alexander Daly was a methodist missionary in Calcutta.
    My ggf married Elizabeth Welsh (1840-1932) . I have over a 100 letters written by ggm to various family members from 1851-1930.
    Would love to hear from anyone with similar family roots.

  3. susaned1 says:

    Hello,

    It’s good to hear from you. It appears that Alexander Daly was in the employ of the British East India Company in Calcutta. He was even known as Captain Daly. My great-great grandmother was Jane (Daly) Rutledge’s sister. I’ll check and see if I have any information about your line. Thanks for the comment and inquiry!

    Sue Edminster

  4. L. Rutledge says:

    September 11, 1881, St Saint Marie, Michigan
    Dear Aunt
    I guess you are thinking that I am never going to write again. I thought when I got your last letter that I would answer if right off but as usual I neglected it.
    I meant to write you when poor Eger died but did not feel like writing and Pa told me he wrote to Uncle James so I was not so particular about writing just then.
    Fred does not seem to be getting any better he seems to be some what the same all the time he looks very bad his hands is not near as large as mine is now he can sit in the chair when Pa helps him to it and then help him back to bed again but poor Eger did not last so long he died on the 6th of July he died very happy he bid us all farewell on Sunday night and thought he was going then but he seemed better on Monday and Pa and I carried him out of his room and sit him in the chair where he could look outside and I asked him if he thought it would be nice to go outside now in the beautiful summer and he smiled and said that he was willing that the Lords will be done but would rather go and see Mama and Julia Ann now. Then he got worse Tuesday again. Awhile before he died he had been talking to some of the young men on young boys I should say and telling them how hard it seemed to trust in Jesus and they came in on Sunday night he put his arms around their neck told them he was safe in the arms of Jesus and kissed them all and bid them good-bye and told them not to forget what he had told them and they said that they would not forget but they could not keep the tears back, he told them not to cry that he was safe then when he was struggling in Death he got so he could not speak now near the last hours and he would put up his hands to feel for Pa’s whiskers and he knew him then I could see, that he knew him to the last Pa would put his lips to his ear and tell him to keep trusting in Jesus and he seemed to understand quite well though he could not speak it seems a dreadful stroke to Pa for I believe he tought the most of Eger for he was the kindest of the two and the most company. Pa says he can never forget poor Eger for he says since I left Eger was all his company. Fred would go away on Snday but Eger would always stay at home with him and was always telling him about something.
    I suppose you would like to know what I thought about Fred but I can not tell. I think he is not likely to get better so you know Pa has his own trouble. I think I will bring my tear stain letter to a close.
    Write soon, Good-bye for tonight
    Millie Cummings

  5. L. Rutledge says:

    Sault St Marie, Michigan, July 16, 1881
    Dear James
    Itbecomes my painful duty to acquaint you of the death of Egerton after a long and painful illness of nearly four months. Fred and Eger was taken down with Typhoid Fever on the 19th of March. Fred had congestion of the lungs at the same time. But in 21 days the ? to improve. I was so worn out that Fred had to go out and hitch up the horse and cutter for Milly and got fresh cold and took inflammation of the lungs with relapse of the fever and Egerton eight a little too much and relapsed into the fever with inflammation of the pleura. I had to attend them both in the Relapse without any help except the Doctor as the neigbours were afraid of the fever.
    Egerton passed away on the sixth of July. Happy in Jesus’ Love after severe suffering he died easy.
    Fred is sitting up a little every day and I think will soon recover if careful. Millies health is not very good she stayed with us first month the Boys were sick But she could not stand it any longer . We had to hire all our work done we have not been able to work one day this Spring. We let the job of taking off the harvest and with the expense of putting it in and taking it off and the expenses of the sickness will amount to about five hundred dollars. We had money to pay about half of the expenses. I received a letter from Sara on the Day of the Funeral. I need not tell you how lonely I feel. I must not complain as the Lord has been better to me than I deserve.
    Yours Ryerson Rutledge

  6. T. Rutledge says:

    Susan,
    I would very much like to contact “L. Rutledge” who posted in 2010. I am working on the Rutledge families of Ontario from the early 1800s, and there appears to be a strong connection to the Daly family. So far we have George Alexandar Daly marrying Jane Rutledge on 6 Dec 1854, and also George’s sister Julia J. Daly marrying Egerton Ryerson Rutledge. Am I to understand that Jane Rutledge and Egerton Ryerson Rutledge were siblings? If so, I may know which family they belong to, with parents John Rutledge and Alice Dixon, but not sure. I feel that “L. Rutledge” would have much more info than I. My Rutledge family also comes from Ireland, County Cavan, and I believe my ancestor may be a cousin of James Ingram Rutledge and his parents. Would like very much to be in touch with anyone researching these families. Very informative website Susan!

  7. susaned1 says:

    Hi, Thanks so much for your comment! I’ll look back and see if I have L. Rutledgge’s Email and get back to you later today. Sue

  8. L. Rutledge says:

    I am very interested in contacting T.Rutledge. My email address is rutledg2@telus.net

Leave a Reply

