Resolutions, Resolutions, Resolutions

It’s that time again. What to resolve this year? There are so many possibilities that I hardly know where to start, but you have to start somewhere, so here goes, one step (er, resolution) at a time:

1. First resolution is to organize and digitize all those hundreds of photos tucked here and there among my files. I’m forever looking, or should I say searching for this or that photo that I just “know” has to be here somewhere…. time to get my photograph house in order. I can already feel a sense of relief about getting that done.

2. Second, I want to have each family digitized and organized before I actually start posting their data. What a novel idea…. Ha!

3. Third, I’ll revisit each family’s file and follow up on those niggling doubts about accuracy or completeness or proper citations. Timeline for this one is all of next year… it’s a biggie to accomplish and can’t be done quickly, especially considering all those boxes and file folders scattered about.

4. Forth, I want to become consistent in naming the types of files. One of my problems has been inconsistency in this area… so when I look at one family file I might have everything by date, but another might be a combination of words and numbers, etc. Fiddlesticks!…. it’s just too confusing.

5. Last but not least, in order to accomplish all of the above I’ll resist the urge to volunteer for organizations…. at least for 2009. It’ll be my sabbatical from volunteerism in order to serve the cause of order and accuracy in my file system and posts.

So here’s a toast to 2009!

This entry was posted in Carnival of Genealogy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Resolutions, Resolutions, Resolutions

  1. Apple says:

    Good luck with your list! Perhaps we’ll “meet” at scanfest sometime.

  2. susaned1 says:

    Thanks! I also hope we meet one of these days. Sue E.

  3. Greetings Susan,
    I think it takes a lot of guts to choose not to volunteer, especially when we feel we should be giving back to the community all the time. I applaud your decision to take a year off and work on your family history. I wish success in your goals for 2009.

    Kathryn

  4. Amy says:

    Great goals for 2009. I applaud your intent to take a break from volunteering. Sometimes you just have to step back and take a breather. Best wishes this New Year.

Leave a Reply

