Cathlamet, Washinton

Good Evening,

Cathlamet, Washington is (for those not familiar with it) a small town on the North side of the Columbia River. I spent many happy times there as a young girl and am still very fond of the area…. going there is a bit like “going home” for me.
When I was growing up my Aunt Elsie Everest was the Manager of the telephone office in Cathlamet and my ambition was to become one of the operators who plugged in the switchboard and said “number please.” Unfortunately for me, the switchboards were long gone before I ever reached the age where I was old enough to work. But I still think it would have been a lot of fun! Aunt Elsie’s husband, Ralph, was the night operator in the telephone office and had a little cot on which to sleep when the switchboard was not needing his services.

For more information about Cathlamet take a look at this informative website and be sure to watch the video:

http://www.welcometowahkiakum.com/


This entry was posted in Cathlamet Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

